CE and Ethics Requirements

Continuing Education

Wisconsin 2015-2016 CE Requirements

The Wisconsin Department of Safety & Professional Services requires 18 hours of continuing education between December 15, 2014 and December 14, 2016. Courses 1, 2, 3 and 4 are mandatory as well as two courses from the list of Elective Topics. Click on the link at the bottom of this page for a description of these courses.

Mandatory Courses (All licensees must take courses 1-4)
Course 1 - Wisconsin State-Approved Listing Contracts (Mandatory)
Course 2 - Wisconsin State-Approved Offers to Purchase (Mandatory)
Course 3 - Wisconsin New Developments (Mandatory)
Course 4 - Ethics and Fair Housing in Wisconsin* (Mandatory)

Elective Topics (Licensees must take two of the following)
Elective A - Disclosures in a Wisconsin Transaction
Elective B - Risk Reduction for Wisconsin Salespeople and Brokers
Elective C - Inspections and Testing in Wisconsin Transactions
Elective D - Wisconsin Condominiums

Effective October 1, 2015 there is a change in Continuing Education requirements. (See Wis. Admin. Code REEB 25: Education)  All licensees will be required to complete the 18 credit hours of continuing education, including for the biennium during which they were licensed.  Therefore, there is no longer an exemption for newly licensed people from the continuing education requirement during the biennium they first receive their license.

However, one group is exempt - a salesperson that received a license after October 1 of the even year of the biennium will not be required to complete continuing education for that biennium.  Brokers will not receive any exemption. For example, if a salesperson received their license October 15, 2016 they would NOT be required to complete continuing education for the 2015-2016 CE biennium.

This requirement will apply for the 2015-2016 biennium.

Live courses and Distance Learning are available through the WRA. Click here for the WRA website.

For more information on Continuing Education requirements, go to the DSPS website.

Code of Ethics Training

The National Association of REALTORS® requires 2-1/2 hours of ethics training between January 1, 2013 and December 31, 2016.


a) Course 4 of the WRA's Continuing Education courses for the DSPS for 2015-2016 will fulfill the NAR Code of Ethics requirement* as well.

b) NAR-Online